Mark Miller – How to Write by the Seat of Your Pants

How to Write by the Seat of Your Pants: Outline or No?

by Mark Miller

Most authors that I speak with do outlines and story arcs ahead of time.  This is probably wise advice, but I completely ignore it.  My style is different, but works for me.  I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone, but I thought I would share as it may be amusing to other writers.  I create the motivators in my head for each character, for instance their background, personality and goals.

After I have that, I ask myself how they would react in the situation they are in.  These actions bump into each other quite often and I can tell you that more than once I put my main character into situations that I had no idea how he was going to get out of it even as I was writing it.  I just allowed the character to react the way he would presented with the situation and a sharp mind.

It turned out that this process creates loads of situations that create a great deal of anxiety in the reader as well and I have witnessed people reading my book become very emotional about what is happening.  This has been very rewarding for me and I think if I would have planned the entire story ahead of time I would not have achieved the randomness that multiple characters with various motivations would provide.  All this being said, I would have likely slept better if I already knew the answers to the dilemmas I was writing!

Buy Now @ Amazon & Smashwords

Genre – Young Adult Fantasy

Rating – PG

More details about the author & the book

Connect with Mark Miller on Facebook

Website http://www.thedruidlegacy.com/

Leave a Reply

