Author Interview – Catherine Astolfo

How important do you think villains are in a story? Villains are extremely important. In my stories, they are the catalysts for all the action. I am fascinated with evil and how some people evolve into monsters. So my evildoers often take center stage.

What are your goals as a writer? I would love to acquire worldwide acclaim. Honestly. I’ll likely have to be satisfied with being known only in my little corner of the world, but I would truly bask in the glow of becoming a famous writer. Of having a book made into a movie. I have lofty goals that are mainly dreams, but you never know…

Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)? I am fortunate to be able to travel and experience the flavor of a country or a city so I can include the sounds, smells and ambiance in my novels. Italy factors into my latest work in progress and Mexico appears in a planned book.

What books have most influenced your life? Two great writers—every single one of their novels—have had a huge impact on me: Margaret Laurence and John Steinbeck. I keep my eye on the quality of their writing as a model. Then I do my best. More recently, I have been influenced by Canadian Louise Penny, both personally and professionally.

Can we expect any more books from you in the future? I have now written five books. Four are published and the fifth is with its first readers before it gets submitted. Number 6 is a dark comedy-mystery. I have two young adult books on the go and an inspirational non-fiction. After that, I have a generational book for which I have the outline and a couple of chapters only. So – yes – expect more books from me!

Do you have any advice for writers? Don’t stop! If you are truly wired for authorship, you need to finish. You can always go back and fix the mistakes later. That’s what the editing process does. Take the editor hat off and create first. Persevere through the boring/bad parts and get ‘er done! Then get others to critique, edit, proof and advise to make the novel even better. These days you don’t even have to wade through the difficult publisher maze. You can do it yourself, so there’s no fear of never having an end product after all your hard work.

1373252870_2924_Sweet_Karolina_Createspace_Front_Cover

Buy Now @ Amazon

Genre –  Psychological Suspense

Rating – 18+

Connect with Catherine Astolfo on Facebook  & Twitter

Website http://www.catherineastolfo.com/

Leave a Reply

