#Author Robert Breeze & how NOT to appeal to the #literary snob @robertbreeze

My writing style and how not to appeal to the literary snob

I’m anything but a literary aficionado. I wish writing came more naturally but it doesn’t and a lot of the time it’s hard, arduous graft. Looking back I guess I had a talent at piecing together essays, it’s the only way I achieved a good history degree given that my historical knowledge is sketchy at best.

When writing ‘2082’ I realised quickly that my natural style isn’t that of a natural novelist. What comes naturally to me as I write is analogies and I think that possibly comes from years of listening to hip hop music. Some of the analogies and alliteration used in hip hop lyrics is genius and such thoughts seem to instinctively pop into my mind when I write (to the point that I need to then edit most of them out).

I think I’ve learnt that there are no hard and fast rules when it comes to writing. Everyone advocates that as a writer you should edit and cut relentlessly at the end of any book, but if that rule was applied across the board then my favourite movie line of all time probably wouldn’t have made the cut (“I dunno I didn’t go into Burger King”).

Words that you wouldn’t find in the dictionary (often two adjectives fused together) also come naturally into my head as I write and I fight to try and leave them in. If to me that word is the easiest way to describe something then why shouldn’t it stay in regardless of whether it’s in the dictionary or not. In a way I think it might help the narrative flow a bit more.

When my writing style is criticised it gets me on the attack. I’m aware that the books aren’t 10% as well written as shakespeare and probably not even as well written as your average novel. Critics whose opinion I respect have said that it flows well and is easy and entertaining to read and that’s good enough for me. I’m not a literary snob and what’s more a large part of me detests the literary snob. I don’t understand people who are obsessed with the semantics of how well written a book is. My books will never be perfectly worded literary masterpieces as I haven’t dedicated 10 years of my life learning how to do so. The flip side of that is that I think this way the book might actually appeal to more of the proletariat which is surely the intention of any writer.

The Chronicles Of Hope is a series of books about some interesting characters going on a thought provoking journey together. It’s told hopefully with a humorous commentary and any reader is intelligent enough to know that it’s a work of fiction. I think that then allows the writer some scope to make the story fun to read whilst telling it, and not feel they have to adhere to any stringent writing formula.

2082

Frank Noon divides opinion. Whilst some say he’s a philosophical genius, some say he’s a fanciful dreamer who deliberately courts controversy with his anti-establishment views about the failings of modern society.

Seemingly nearing the end of his life in politics, he reluctantly fronts an experimental inter-galactic government project late in the 21st century aimed at making life on an overpopulated Earth more sustainable. As he battles to gain control of a relative asylum, consisting of a cross section of the populous as much at odds with themselves as the situation, he unwittingly embarks on a life-changing journey of self discovery.

As they learn more about the project and its intentions how far-reaching might the consequences be for the future of humanity?

Buy Now @ Amazon

Genre – Political Fiction

Rating – PG

More details about the author

Connect with Robert Breeze on Facebook & Twitter

Leave a Reply

