#Author J.L. Myers on #BookMarketing That Works @BloodBoundJLM

https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/G/01/ciu/76/59/2171cba245260ad8986c39.L._V380953060_SX200_.jpg

What book should everybody read at least once?

My book What Lies Inside of course! But more seriously I would recommend Kresley Cole’s A Hunger Like No Other, or J.R. Ward’s Dark Love. Both books are the first in their series and well worth the read. For teen readers Kresley Cole’s Poison Princess is amazing. It’s post-apocalyptic and fantasy with a touch of romance all rolled up into an awesome story.

Is there any books you really don’t enjoy?

Yes, there have been a few books that either just bore me to tears or are written in a way that only a grammatical genius would understand. I won’t name any books, as everyone will have books they do and don’t like for different reasons.

How did you develop your writing?

After writing the draft of my first book I searched for ways to revise my novel before putting it out there. What I came across has changed my writing and my life. Holly Lisle is an experienced fiction and non-fiction writer who has traditionally publishing and now chooses to self-publish. Her course How to Revise Your Novel changed the way I now write and took my messy first draft and turned it into a finished work that I wanted to put out into the world.

For any aspiring writers out there who want to write professionally and not just for a hobby, I strongly recommend Holly’s courses. Yes there is more than one, and each course caters to different aspects and stages of writing. Check out her courses here – http://howtothinksideways.com/writing-courses/

What is hardest – getting published, writing or marketing?

Writing is a challenge that is fun, it can be hard at times, but it’s definitely not the hardest thing in this biz.

Getting published for me took a while. After considering the pros and cons of traditional and self-publishing, I decided on the latter. Waiting for an agent or publisher to maybe one day in the future see the magic in my writing and books was far from appealing. Part of the decision to self-publish also came from wanting to keep ownership and control of what I had created and what I still planned to do with my current series. I didn’t want to find an agent or publisher and then have them turn around and shred the heart and soul of what I’d created.

As I didn’t take the traditional route I can’t offer a personalised comment, though I do believe getting noticed in the traditional publishing world would be extremely difficult in this time and age with all the talented aspiring authors out there.

In my experience self-publishing is hard, because you the author have to do everything. Write the book. Revise the book. Enlist readers, editors and proof-readers to make sure the work is ready and polished. Create a cover or find a professional to create one for you. Write your blurb (believe me it’s harder than you think). Format your book for eBook and print versions, or again hire a professional. All of this isn’t necessarily hard, but it does take a good chunk of time whether you do it all yourself or not.

Marketing is where I am currently. Being new territory it is currently the hardest part of this journey for me. Many people think they can just put their book up on Amazon and it will take off. Unfortunately this is most instances not the case. Gaining exposure and a readership is tough. It takes a lot of time and dedication. Online presence is a must with social platforms as is a professional website that is current and linked to your books. Unlike writing and publishing which is done when the book is live and available, I believe marketing requires constant input, which in my eyes makes it the hardest part.

What marketing works for you?

I think anything that gets your name and books our there and known can work. For me I am currently building a platform through social media. I have a blog through my series website at http://bloodboundnovels.com which I post book/series news and author blogs through. These posts also publish straight to my Facebook page. My site also has a subscription so fans of my work can sign up to get important book news and new author blogs straight to their emails. On Amazon I am signed up with KDP Select, which gives me 5 days to promote my book free every 3 months. Having just completed my first promotion earlier this month, I am glad to report that the outcome via book sales and exposure has definitely improved. Of course all these options require time and energy and research to find out how and where to promote your work. Marketing is hard work, and I’m sure this book tour will be added to my list once it gets up and running.

What Lies Inside

Amelia Lamont never asked to unleash her inner vampire

Amelia’s normal teen world is shattered when a terrifying nightmare awakens the monster inside her. A newfound, insatiable thirst for blood that leads her to drain the school quarterback is only the beginning; she’s horrified to discover that her family and best friend Kendrick have been harboring the secret all along. And is the strangely alluring boy who seems hell-bent on curbing her murderous, blood-filled desires a friend, or foe?

To escape detection Amelia and her twin brother Dorian are forced to move to a new town, and the challenge of a new, exclusive high school where nearly every classmate smells like prey. Including the irresistible Ty, who seems hauntingly familiar, yet darkly menacing …

Amelia’s disturbing dreams and entanglement in a web of forbidden romance render her increasingly powerless against the chilling lies and secrets of vampire power struggles. And, as she soon discovers, vampire politics mixed with outlawed love can be a lethal cocktail.

Falling in love may just cost Amelia everything: her friends, her family…even her life

Move over Twilight, True Blood and Underworld! J.L. Myers’ first book in the Blood Bound series will have you swooning for more!

Warning – This book contains some language and sexual situations.

YA/ Vampire/ Paranormal Fiction

Buy Now @ Amazon

Genre – YA Paranormal Romance

Rating – PG-13+

More details about the author

Connect with  Jessica Myers on Facebook & Twitter

Website http://bloodboundnovels.com

Leave a Reply

